Tuesday, December 29, 2009

December 2009 Press Club board minutes

Dec. 9, 2009 — Board room, San Mateo Daily Journal. The meeting was called to order at 7 p.m.

Present: Jon Mays, Micki Carter, Jack Russell, Peter Cleaveland Darryl Compton. Absent: Dave Price, Ed Remitz, Marshall Wilson, Melissa McRobbie, Jamie Casini. Guest: Antonia Ehlers

Minutes of November were approved as read.

Treasurer’s Report: Darryl reported that the club took in $18,800 and spent $20,800 in 2009. He noted that membership is down because the Daily News Group has stopped paying for the membership of staff members.

Year in Review: Jon looked back at the activities of the club in 2009.

2010 Professional Journalism Contest: Jon asked members to bring suggestions for revising the rules/categories for the contest to the January meeting. He will seek ideas for the online categories from Barry Parr.

Director Emeritus: Micki moved that Press Club Founder Jack Russell be designed Director Emeritus. Peter seconded and it passed unanimously. Jack talked for a few minutes about the formation of the Press Club.

New Directors:
    Darryl announced the results of the annual balloting:
    President: Jon Mays
    Vice president: Dave Price
    Secretary: Micki Carter
    Treasurer: Ed Remitz
    Immediate past president: Jamie Casini
    Directors: Peter Cleaveland, Melissa McRobbie, Kristy Blackburn, Antonia Ehlers
    Marshall Wilson still has another year in his term.
Donations: The board voted to send $100 each to the Student Law Press Center, CalAware and the First Amendment Coalition.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Micki Carter

1 comment:

San Francisco Peninsula Press Club said...

$100 donations. WOW! Break out the champagne